Thread: Newbie Table - August

1. Default Newbie Table - August

Since all of the member groups use a daily or weekly thread style - I figured we should start one up here!

How are things going for all of the other newbies this week?

What significant steps did you guys take towards your goals?

I guess I'll start with an update on myself. I was inspired to buy a pedometer from another newbie here. I lost it after 3 hours of use... Not surprising for me - I'd lose my head if it wasn't attached! I've been dealing with hip/flank pain since March of last year so a lot of times that is the cause for me not working out(or doing anything, really), and the consequence when I do. Still, I battle though it because I know I can't lay around all day. I'm not on a Weight Watchers program yet, but I've been making a lot of positive changes to the way I eat by way of healthier, smaller portions. My workouts right now consist of stretching, and light exercises. Mostly hip flexors, abs, and glutes since that is what PT has had me doing. I'll be slowly amping up my cardio in the next few weeks. I run out of breath fast, and too much activity increases my pain - so I feel like I'm limited by that.

Hoping it'll all get better after time! Just got to stick with it I guess...

Replies

Default Re: Newbie Table - Weekly

Jace, I am not a newbie, but wanted to comment on your problem. Have you seen a sports medicine person? The PT is good, but a sports med guy could get you moving or at least get you a diagnosis. Have you tried pool workouts? I've known people who've trained for marathons through stress fractures by working out in a pool. It's a lot harder than it looks, but the buoyancy of the water really keeps the stress off the hurting parts of your body.

Good luck in getting moving pain free again.
    Ann
    SW: 158.6 Dec 2010
    G.W. 137

C.W. 125, Dec. 7, 2018

3. Default Re: Newbie Table - Weekly