Thread: Question re: Sweet Potatoes

Question Question re: Sweet Potatoes

I"m REAL new to sweet potatoes. I found a recipe that i want to make for Thanksgiving. It said to buy about 2 pounds of sweet potatoes, peel them, boil for about 30 minutes then mash.

My question ... the canned sweet potatoes. Can they be substituted (as long as they aren't candied ... are all sweet potatoes candied in cans? - toldja ... Sweet Potato Newbie here! )

Is the taste the same ... or would it be better to buy the fresh and boil and mash myself? I was thinking that the canned may be softer and mash up better ... am i wrong there?
    Thanks for your help guys!
    Success is the sum of small efforts repeated day in and day out.

Barb A

Replies

Default Re: Question re: Sweet Potatoes

If you can find canned in water they should work fine. Most are canned in syrup.

If you want to do this on your own you should be fine too. It's just like making regular mashed potatoes. If you cut them in smaller pieces they will cook faster. If they are not soft enough, cook them some more. You don't have to worry about overcooking them. If you want you can cook and mash the day before, then finish your dish the next day. They will keep overnight in the refrigerator.
    Nancy

Original SW 175 (1996)
    2008 stats: SW 153.6 12/31/07 ~ HW 156.0 09/15/08 ~ CW 153.2 09/22/08 ~ GW 137 ~ PGW 130
    My pictures!
    "Good food brings good health and longevity." - Chinese fortune cookie

I agree with Nancy. Fresh are better and they're easy. Even if you can find them in water...they're probably high in sodium.

I would think the fresh have more flavor as well.
    *Hugs*
    ~Gina~
    Recommitted - 2/4/04 after baby #4
    SW 223.6
    CW 151.2
    WWG 130
    PG 123.6

Princess Two Shakes and a Shimmey